Services and Support Groups
Turquoise House
Empowerment Links
Newsletter
Send me E-Mail Updates
Empowerment Links

KNOWLEDGE  IS POWER

Here are some websites that we find informative and helpful

Mental Health/Health/Self-Help

Alternative Mental Health Online   www.alternativementalhealth.com
Boston University Center for Psychiatric Rehabilitation   www.bu.edu/sarpsych
Bring Change 2  Mind http://bringchange2mind.org/
Consumer Organizing & Networking Technical Assistance (CONTAC)   www.contac.org
Depression & Bipolar Support Alliance (DBSA)   www.DBSAlliance.org
Dr. Koop   www.drkoop.com
Eating Disorder Referral & Information Center   www.edreferral.com
Gift From Within-PTSD Resources for Survivors & Caregivers   www.giftfromwithin.org
Health Care Infdormation Resources   www.hsl.mcmaster.ca/tomflem/mental.html
Internet Mental Health   www.mentalhealth.com
Mental Health Net   www.mentalhelp.net
Mental Health Recovery   www.mentalhealthrecovery.net
Mental Health Recovery and WRAP   www.mentalhealthrecovery.com
Mind Freedom Support International   www.mindfreedom.org
National Empowerment Center   www.power2u.org
The National Mental Health Consumers' Self-Help Clearinghouse   www.selfhelpgroups.org
National Research & Training Center on Psychiatric Disability   www.psych.uic.edu/uicnrtc
New York City Voices Newsletter   www.newyorkcityvoices.org
Pat Deegan, PhD and Associates   www.patdeegan.om
Recovery Inc.   www.recovery-inc.com

Advocacy

American Association of People with Disabilities   www.aapd-dc.org
Bazelon Center for Mental Health   www.bazelon.org
MacArthur Research Network on Mental Health & Law   www.macarthur.virginia.edu/mentalhome.html
National Association Protection & Advocacy Systems   www.napas.org
National Committee for Quality Assurance   www.ncqa.org
National Health Law Project   www.healthlaw.org

Mental Health Organizations

National Alliance for the Mentally Ill (NAMI)   www.nami.org
National Mental Health Association (NMHA)   www.nmha.org
The New York Association of Psychiatric Rehabilitation (NYAPRS)   www.nyaprs.org
The U.S. Psychiatric Rehabilitation Association (USPRA)   www.uspra.org

Government Resources

Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services   www.cms.hs.gov
MEDLINE (National Library of Medicine)   www.nlm.nih.gov
Mental Health: A Report of the Surgeon General   www.surgeongeneral.gov/library/mentalhealth/hone.htm
New Freedom Initiative's Online Resource for American with Disabilities   www.disabilityinfo.gov
National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine   www.nccam.nih.gov/health
National Mental Health Information Center   www.mentalhealth.org
President's New Freedom Commission on Mental Health   www.mentalhealthcommission.gov
Resource Center to Address Discrimination and Stigma   www.stopstigma.samhsa.gov
Thomas Legislative Information on the Internet (Library of Congress)   www.Thomas.loc.gov
The U.S. House of Representatives   www.house.gov
The U.S. Senate   www.senate.gov
The White House   www.whitehouse.gov 

Register to Vote

Be a Voter   www.beavoter.org
Insure Democracy   www.insuredemocracy.com/state.htm
Project Vote Smart   www.vote-smart.org